In Memoriam

It is with a sad heart that the Division of Compliance Assistance (DCA) says goodbye to Steve Crosman, our friend and colleague. Steve, a trainer who specialized in drinking water systems operations, passed away unexpectedly on Dec. 29, 2011, at his Lawrenceburg home.

Steve was known and respected throughout the operator community. His charismatic teaching style was enjoyed by all of his students. His natural ability to convert difficult concepts into real-life examples allowed operators to apply his knowledge and ensure safe water throughout Kentucky. Steve understood the importance of operator integrity, and his passion for the profession was reflected in the personal investment he made into each of his students. He measured his success by the success of the operators he mentored.

Although Steve’s commitment to his profession was remarkable, it was his personal character that will be missed most by his DCA friends. Not afraid to laugh at himself, his free spirit eagerly explored opportunities for self-expression and happiness. He taught us that a full life includes a giving spirit and an open heart. Steve freely offered his unfiltered advice and friendship to anyone that needed it or, as he would say, to anyone stupid enough to take it. He exemplified self-sacrifice by giving away his time and money and never expected anything in return.

While we will miss Steve greatly, we will continue to celebrate Steve’s life, stay motivated by his passion and strive to serve others with a heart like his. We’re proud of you, Steve, and we will miss you daily.

This entry was posted in News & Events and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to In Memoriam

  1. Joe Harvey says:

    Sorry to hear of Steve’s passing. I had just met him at training in London this past fall. I could tell he had a great spirt. Such a great loss.

  2. Ruth Lancaster says:

    Well said… today’s blog entry captures Steve’s spirit, enthusiasm, and personality perfectly. I still cannot believe I will not be able to pick up the phone and call him with questions, or hear his deep laughing voice again. My heart goes out to Danielle, Meghan, and the rest of his family and loved ones. I always teased Steve about the kind words he would put at the close of his emails to me – either an admonition to chill out or cheer up, or words of appreciation for our friendship. That is his final message, I suppose: to live each day as if it may be my last, leave no joke untold, no compliment unpaid, and always let everyone know exactly where you stand. I am going to try to be more like Steve in that regard.

  3. Nancy Parker says:

    I am truely sorry to hear of Steve’s passing.

  4. Melissa Ann Melton says:

    It was Steve Crosman who worked with me every night of operator school tutoring me every spare minute and it was his belief and encouragement that secured by operator’s license. There are not words that adquately express the loss of Steve or what he gave to each of us_ a great trainer and irreplaceable friend. I’ve called upon that friendship for trusted advice within our field on several occasions. I will miss you so very much Steve but I will have a smile on my face each time my thoughts light upon YOU!

  5. Shana Carr says:

    Steve was a wonderful person, who was ALWAYS willing to help another. He was a delight.

  6. John Turner says:

    A great loss to us all Steve was a great teacher and friend.

  7. Bill Wulfeck says:

    I am deeply saddened to hear of Steve’s passing. He was a great trainer and did a lot for the operators in KY. We will miss him.

  8. mick harden says:

    I pray for Steves for family as they deal with this. It was great to know a little of Steve andf the fact that he did some H2o mission work for the KING of Glory and has encouraged me to always keep that in mind.John 3:16

  9. Nick Hedge says:

    Im sorry to hear of the passing of Steve he was a great teacher and friend

  10. Anonymous says:

    Steve Crosman, A Class Act
    God Speed
    Your Friend, Mark Walters

  11. John lemons says:

    Steve was a wonderful person and a awsome teacher. He will be missed.

  12. Solitha Dharman says:

    I was shocked to hear passing of Steve. He was always willing to share his knowledge in the drinking water field with others and at the same time respect and appreciate others work. We all miss Steve as a good coworker, a friend and a dedicated teacher in the drinking water field

  13. Dennis Minch says:

    Steve was a true friend, a great teacher and a fun person to be around. I will miss him at future
    training events. His family are in my prayers!

  14. TO FAMILY, CLOSE FRIENDS, AND ALL WHO HAD THE HONOR TO ENCOUNTER STEVE…YOU ARE IN OUR THOUGHTS AND PRAYERS .

    Steve gave me strength and I expect everyone he met feels the same way. His passion for Water Quality was contagious and he DID want every Operator who showed up in his class to be on the “Pass-List”. I will miss his funny powerpoints, his laid-back smile, his after class group study sessions, his wonderful kindness, his ability to teach…even me, and who hasn’t seen a funky shirt and just knew who would love to have one or has one just like it( he would love this) I will miss him. I would not have made it without your help…I just know it! I am Proud to tell everyone ..”I treat and send out some of the Best Quality Water in the state of Kentucky because STEVE CROSMAN taught me how! I may be a Class-IV but, Steve was and WILL always be FIRST-CLASS!
    I will miss him,
    Mrs. Dusty Florence & Family

  15. Carol says:

    I met Steve some years back while we were both attending a water certification class. I also met Ruth because at that time she was teaching the class. I can tell so many people so many cute things in getting to know Steve as well as can we all. My heart is very heavy with sadness for Danielle and Meghan and his sister Karen. Steve was very unique and had so many good qualities. He was very intelligent, could quote the bible like it was nothing and could get the muddiest of anyone I ever saw. Shows you he didn’t care to get dirty doesn’t it. I always told him that I knew his mother would never let him play in mud when he was a child. Like Ruth said Steve lived his life like there was no tomorrow and yes we probably all should be like that because we are not promised a tomorrow. I will miss you Steve and you have left me a lot of wonderful memories and things to look back on and giggle.

  16. bryan burton says:

    Sorry for the Crosman family. I’m glad to say I’ve known him for 3 years he has made such an impact in my life I’ll always remember him and I will always remember his stories in that deep booming voice, wearing some type of Hawaiian print shirt. I always looked forward to training with him. God bless Steve!

  17. Steve will be missed greatly. He has helped so many plant operators, all over Kentucky, to excel in their field. McCreary County Water District personnel will miss his fun, relaxed, and enthusiastic approach to teaching. It was always obvious that Steve loved what he did and tried to share that excitement with as many people as he could. Our thoughts and prayers are with his family during this difficult time.

  18. Lori Conway - Division of Enforcement says:

    Steve was a great man to have known. He could always put a smile on my face when I felt a little down, and always seemed to really care how you were doing. He was professional, yet added just the right amount of personality in all that he did. I know I will miss seeing him and hearing that laught right after he would share a joke.
    I will keep his family and loved ones in my prayers.

  19. Patricia N. Stallard says:

    I met Steve at the class last February in Frankfort. While there he taught me so much more than what I needed to know for just the test. We started a friendship and stayed in touch after the class. I saw him again at Barren River State Park in October. Then talked to him last week about him planning a visit to Knott County Water plant on the 10th of January. My deepest thoughts and prayers are with his family right now. It was such a shock to receive an email today from the DOW telling of his passing. I will forever miss Steve and his wonderful personality. As the blog said he was not afraid to laugh at himself or offer a lifelong friendship to anyone “stupid” enough to take it. But I am very grateful that I was one of the so called “stupid” ones to take him up on the offer of friendship. I will continue to hold the memories in my heart of how Steve touched my life with his wonderful advice, extraordinary teaching styles and caring heart. May God be with his family and friends during this very difficult time. Rest In Peace Steve.

  20. Samuel Davis says:

    I was surprised and saddened when I read the e-mail sent to me about Steve’s passing. I had come tro respect and admire him for his teaching and the interaction that I had with him at the training schools. To his friends and family I would like to offer my condolences for their loss. May God be with each of you in this time of sorrow. My prayes are with all of you who worked with him during his time as a member of the Division of water.

  21. Shawn Baldwin says:

    As so many has said, I too was shocked of the news today. He has trained me to be the operator I am today. His teaching’s got me through my 1’s,2’s and my 3’s and passed them on the first try every time.Now ready for my 4’s, going to miss his stories that took some of the boring out of the class.Hope I can make you proud Steve!!God Bless his family, You will truly be missed

  22. Mark Pharris says:

    Death is more universal than life; everyone dies but not everyone lives. Steve is one of the few that I can say that live life and was always willing to go that extra mile not for him but for others. I would not be the operator that I am if not for him. You will be missed, but not forgotten.

  23. patrick mark gilreath says:

    I am truly sorry to hear of Steve’s passing. He was a great teacher, and all around great guy. I got to meet him only once, but he left a good impression on me. God Bless.

  24. Allen MCcarty says:

    Steve will be missed by all @ Magoffin County Water. Our prayers go out to his family and friends.

  25. Anonymous says:

    I had the extraordinary pleasure of being able to sit under Steves’ tutelage six times since 2009 while being trained to get my water operators licsences. Six tests and I never failed once. Thankyou Steve Crosman for never failing as an instructor and never failing as a great human being. My deepest condolences and sympathy to your family and your family and friends in the water supply community.

  26. Mike Stearman says:

    Steve stopped by our plant one day to look at our UV process. On this day when he left I felt like I had know him for ever. And every time our path crossed he treated me as such. He was a great teacher and friend. He will be missed, but not forgotten.

  27. Jessica Wilhoite says:

    Don’t grieve for me
    For now I’m free,
    I’m following the path
    God has laid out you see.

    I took his hand
    When I heard him call,
    I turned my back
    And left it all.

    I could not stay
    Another day,
    To laugh, to love
    To work, to play.

    Tasks left undone
    Must stay that way,
    I found that peace
    At the close of day.

    If my parting
    Has left a void,
    Then fill it with
    Remembered joy.

    A friendship shared
    A laugh, a kiss
    Oh, yes these things
    I too will miss.

    Be not burdened
    With times of sorrow,
    I wish you
    The sunshine of tomorrow.

    My life’s been full
    I savored much,
    Good friends, good times
    A loved ones touch.

    Perhaps my time
    Seemed all too brief,
    Don’t lengthen it now
    With undue grief.

    Lift up your hearts
    And peace to thee,
    God wanted me now;
    He set me free.

    I’m lucky to have been able to have worked with such a wonderful, charismatic individual and to have been able to call Steve “my trainer”. I will miss the laughter he brought into our workplace and the friendship that came along with it. DCA will not be the same without him. With a heavy heart I say ‘farewell Steve Crosman’ knowing one day we shall meet up again.

  28. Rick Hensley says:

    I was so sorry to hear about Steve’s Passing. He truly was a great person and enjoyed life so much. In his classes you really did not feel pressure because he had a way of presenting things that made it enjoyable. He did care about each person in his class and would help you so much. I will miss him so much at the next class as an instructor but more so as a friend and a person who made each day there fun and enjoyable. My thoughts and prayers are with his family. God Bless Them All…

  29. Glynn Goldsmith says:

    I enjoyed getting to know Steve, he was there at any time to help answer any questions, I will always remember him as a “Great person & Teacher”. May God Bless his family, you all are in my Prayers.

  30. Danielle and Meghan Crosman says:

    Thank you all for your kind words about our dad. We loved him very much and he will be dearly missed. He talked about his classes often and thoroughly enjoyed teaching. He very much enjoyed meeting and working with each one of you. We are honored that dad had such a wonderful group of people that he called friends.

    With love,
    Danielle and Meghan Crosman

  31. We, at the Utility Commision was tremendously saddened to learn of Steve’s passing. He was indeed a great asset to our company. Steve’s passion for his job was truly demonstrated in his concern for every student to excel to the highest and the “call above duty” efforts that he made when needed. We feel this is a great loss not only to the Division of Compliance, but for our Water System as well. Our deepest sympathy and prayers are sent to his family.

  32. Amanda LeFevre says:

    Words are not enough, but words are all we have. I offer up a few words that come to mind when I think about Steve Crosman.

    Individual- Steve was my favorite non-conformist. In a sea of black and white bureaucracy, he was an island unto himself, complete with a cubicle with surf-board borders around the wall, pink flamingos and a talking parrot.

    Ears- Steve had a good set of of them and an even better mind in between. His ears were always open and he offered up common-sense, to-the-point advice when you needed it.

    Rare- If only we had a few more Steves in this world.

    Selfless- Steve would literally offer you the Hawaiian shirt of his back if he thought you needed it. Whether it was working after hours to help an operator with a test, fixing a friend’s car or doing mission work to provide clean water in the third world, Steve was always first in line to help.

    Humorous- I believe it was his goal to laugh loud, heartily and often.

    Bright- As in this world is a much brighter place having had Steve in it.

    Card- My favorite part of my birthday was getting my Steve birthday card. He always found one that was perfect for you.

    I still look up from my cubicle and peek across the way expecting him to be there, or at least to hear him curse powerpoint for having crashed on him again while preparing another of his famous presentations, but he’s not. My heart is still heavy, if not a little broken, but I know it is better for having known Steve. Thanks my dear friend and God speed.

  33. Danielle and Meghan Crosman says:

    There will be a celebration of life for Steve on Saturday, February 4, 2012, from 3:00 pm to 6:00 pm at the Frankfort Plant Board Clubhouse, 98 Tanglewood Drive, Frankfort, Kentucky. Please stop by and bring your best Steve story to celebrate his life. For directions, please visit http://www.fewpb.com (look under administration).

  34. Marlene Boyle says:

    He has left us with the best memories a person could ask for. We all loved him and miss him so much. His laughter and beautiful honest attitude, he will always be with us in spirit… Never to be forgotten…

  35. I had the pleasure of meeting Steve during the Dec 6-9, 2011 training. He was the nicest trainer I had ever had – as I left his class that day I told my wife, what a good nstructor I had. The news of his passing brought sadness over me that I didn’t expect from someone I had only spent a few days with… however, as I reflected back, those days were spent with a man who had a heart for others succeeding and a genuine caring person. Those two qualities are not often found in everyone. He took his time and helped me learn and most of all, made me feel like I could succeed. I have been in the water business for 15 years and Steve was by far, one of the best trainer I had. My heart goes out to his family and friends. I will lift each of you up in prayer and may the memories you hold to, linger forever.

  36. Lisa Butler says:

    As I sit here in the office this afternoon I keep thinking Steve will be returning from his latest training. As was his habit, he would start revising his PowerPoint presentations as soon as a class was over. He always felt he could them so the operators would gain more knowledgewhile enjoying the class.

    Steve was one of those rare coworkers that always could tell when you needed a laugh, some sympathy or a reality check. He was a great friend and was a good example of job enthuasism to everyone in DCA. He wouldn’t settle for less than 100%. He was always available to help us in whatever way we needed.

    I miss him now, but think I will miss him even more as the reality sinks in that he will not be returning to us.

    I thank God for the time we had and will always remember his one of a kind personality. My birthday will not be the same without his personally selected birthday card that always was the card that made me laugh the hardest.

    My prayers are with his daughters, sister and wife. I know the void his passing has left.

  37. RL Bush says:

    What an AMAZING teacher. He may get replaced, but he will never be forgotten. Thanks Steve………

  38. Pingback: Announcing: The Steve Crosman Award for Outstanding Environmental Professionalism | KY OCP

Leave a Reply

