Water Treatment Plants Recognized for Superior Performance

54 systems receive awards

Fifty-four water treatment plants in Kentucky have been recognized by the Energy and Environment Cabinet for their demonstrated success in producing drinking water in 2012 that consistently met or exceeded state water quality standards.

The 54 systems honored are among 155 public and private water treatment plants in the state that participated in the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency’s Area-Wide Optimization Program (AWOP). The program challenges plants to reduce turbidity and disinfection byproduct levels below those required by state and federal regulations. Turbidity, or cloudiness, of water can be caused by sand and dirt, as well as bacteria and viruses. Particle removal is critical for producing water that is free of dirt and microbes that can cause waterborne diseases. Disinfection byproducts are formed when chlorine reacts with organic material such as vegetation found in the source water.

“Together, these 54 systems serve more than 2.2 million Kentuckians who can be assured that their water treatment systems are committed to producing safe drinking water from Kentucky’s lakes, rivers and reservoirs,” said Julie Roney, coordinator of the Division of Water’s Drinking Water Program. “The operators and staff of these plants deserve our recognition and our gratitude for making the technical, managerial and financial improvements to their operations that allow them to continue to provide clean drinking water to the public.”

Two of the water systems received an AWOP Champion Award. This award takes into account the number of years the system has been optimized, as well as the dedication of the operating staff. Lawrenceburg Water Department won in the category for large population served (more than 10,000 customers). The Williamsburg Water Treatment Plant won the Champion Award for small population served (fewer than 10,000 customers).

Thirteen treatment plants received special recognition for achieving the optimized microbial water quality goals 100 percent of the time in 2012. These include Benham Water Plant, Bowling Green Municipal Utilities, Columbia/Adair County Water Treatment Plant, Hardin County Water District No. 2, Jackson County Water Association, Jamestown Municipal Water System, Liberty Water Works, Logan-Todd Regional Water Commission, Madisonville Light and Water, McCreary County Water District – Flat Rock Plant, North Point Training Center, U.S. Enrichment Corp. and Wood Creek Water District.

Water systems recognized for meeting the microbial goals 95 percent of the time in 2012 include the following systems:

  • Barbourville Water and Electric
  • Benham Water Plant
  • Booneville Water and Sewer District
  • Bowling Green Municipal Utilities
  • Burkesville Water Works
  • Cave Run Regional Water Commission
  • Columbia-Adair Regional Water Commission
  • Crittenden-Livingston County Water District
  • Danville City Water Works
  • Franklin Water Works
  • Georgetown Municipal Water Service
  • Glasgow Water Co. — Barren  River Plant and Beaver Creek Plant
  • Green River Valley Water District
  • Greenup County Water System
  • Hardin County Water District No. 1
  • Hardin County Water District No. 2
  • Hartford Municipal Water Works
  • Hopkinsville Water Environmental Authority
  • Irvine Municipal Utilities
  • Jackson County Water Association
  • Jackson Municipal Water Works
  • Jamestown Municipal Water Works
  • Jenkins Water System
  • Kentucky American Water — Hardin’s Landing Plant
  • Laurel County Water District No. 2
  • Lawrenceburg Water and Sewer Department
  • Leitchfield Water Works
  • Liberty Water Works
  • Logan-Todd Regional Water Commission
  • London Utility Commission
  • Louisa Water Department
  • Louisville Water Co. – Crescent Hill Plant
  • Madisonville Light & Water
  • McCreary County Water District – Revelo Plant and Flatrock Plant
  • Morgantown Water System
  • Nicholasville Water Department
  • North Point Training Center
  • Northern Kentucky Water District – Taylor Mill Plant and Fort Thomas Plant
  • Ohio County Water District
  • Paducah Water Works
  • Paris Water Works
  • Pineville Water Service
  • Rattlesnake Ridge Water District
  • Rio Tinto Alcan (Henderson County)
  • U.S. Enrichment Corp. (McCracken County)
  • Western Fleming Water District
  • Williamsburg Water Department
  • Wood Creek Water District

Four water systems received certificates for meeting the disinfection byproduct goals of the AWOP program:

  • Franklin Water Works
  • Hardin County Water District No. 1
  • Owensboro Municipal Utilities
  • Henderson Water Utility South
This entry was posted in News & Events and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.